Book Review: The Jealousy Workbook

While Interneting, I stumbled on The Jealousy Workbook by Kathy Labriola. I wasn’t sure if I actually needed it at this point in my life, but I like self-help workbooks like that and I was curious, so I went ahead and downloaded it for my tablet. I wasn’t sure what to expect, but I’m actually pretty impressed. It’s written specifically for non-monogamous people and doesn’t seem quite as “everything is fine, just take deep breaths and you’ll stop being jealous”-y as a lot of advice I’ve seen.

First it has some exercises that are supposed to tell you if you are more naturally inclined towards non-monogamy or if you should be monogamous. I took those with a grain of salt, but I was still pleasantly surprised to find that I scored very non-monogamous. Then it has really cool exercises on figuring out things like what triggers your jealousy and whether your jealousy is irrational.

The second half of the book is full of exercises to deal with specific instances of jealousy, especially while you’re feeling it. I haven’t looked through all of them yet, but it seems pretty cool.

The book does seem targeted towards people in hierarchical polyamory or open relationships who are experiencing jealousy in their primary relationship, so if that doesn’t sound like you, be prepared for that.

Leave a Reply

