Why I’m not depressed right now

Lately I’ve been happy and content. I can have a bad mood over an actual cause without it lingering beyond normal. My depression is in remission and it’s fantastic. So I wanted to think about why I’m doing so well.

  1. Medication: I’m on medication again. I know it’s not for everyone, and it’s also not effective enough on my depression by itself, but it makes it easier to be happy. I’ve dealt with my depression with and without drugs over the years, and right now this is best for me.
  2. Exercise: Everyone always talks about healthy living as if it’s a panacea for depression, which I think is sort of BS, but jogging regularly does help some. I’m trying to create better habits in myself so that I’m healthier in general, and physical and mental health often go hand in hand.
  3. Taking steps to build the life I want: A year ago, my life seemed pretty shitty. I was in a job that I hated and it made it a drag to get out of bed every day. So I found a profession that I thought I would like and applied to grad school. Now, I like my job, my classes are OK and I see the purpose of them, and I’m optimistic about my future. Beyond the professional aspects of my life, I’m learning how to cook, working out (I know I already said that) and connecting with friends. Basically, when I see aspects of my life that I don’t like or want to change, I’m slowly changing them. It makes the present better and gives me hope for the future.
  4. Dealing with non-monogamy: Basically my whole blog is about this, so I don’t want to harp on it, but I feel like Mike and I are communicating better and that I’m getting better at expressing my needs and dealing with things that suck. I feel more secure in my primary relationship and I’m maintaining my friendships better.
  5. Luck: Honestly, I think a lot of depression comes down to luck. I never know why sometimes everything hurts and sometimes I can brush off just about anything. I’m doing a lot of things to make myself OK and happy, but sometimes I can do everything right and still be depressed. I’m lucky to be healthy right now.
Leave a Reply

